AUSSTELLUNG
Laubengasse 9 - Bozen
1.0

The exhibition

This exhibition can offer only a limited view of the situation of South Tyrol in the 1960s. The “South Tyrol Conflict” culminated during those years, which were so “many-facetted” that this exhibition seeks in particular to generate interest in the events of that era – which had a major impact on South Tyrol’s path to freedom.

This exhibition therefore focuses on those persons who were willing to make a “sacrifice for freedom” – the activists and sympathizers of the “South Tyrolean Liberation Committee” (BAS). Must one must not forget the contribution of all those people who were themselves victims during the years of the “South Tyrolean Conflict.”

2.0

Early history

The “South Tyrolean Conflict” can be traced back to the occupation of South Tyrol by Italy after World War I, in November of 1918, and to the Fascist seizure of power in Italy in 1922. The measures taken by the Fascist government under Benito Mussolini to “Italianize” South Tyrol and to marginalize the native populace by promoting the mass immigration of Italian citizens as well as the “option” hammered out by Hitler and Mussolini put the German-speaking population of South Tyrol under severe pressure.

After World War II, Italy continued its policy of marginalizing the native populace. This led, in 1957, to the gathering of South Tyroleans at the Sigmundskron Castle and to the formation of the “South Tyrolean Liberation Committee” (BAS).

3.0

Who

Beginning in 1956, South Tyroleans of all ages gathered around Sepp Kerschbaumer (from Frangart near Bozen) in order to demonstrate against the increasingly desperate situation of the German-speaking populace.

At about the same time, a group of the BAS formed in northern Tyrol – joined also by people from other Austrian states.

The total of about five groups of persons belonging to the BAS had only loose contact amongst each other. Further, its members belonged to various different directions and ideologies.

All BAS activists were united in the desire to do something for the situation of the German-speaking populace of South Tyrol. All of them were willing to make a “Sacrifice for Freedom!”

They did that although it was clear that Italy reacted with extreme reprisals against BAS activists, including torture. After the murder of the BAS activist Luis Amplatz, it was clear that some segments of the Italian state would not stop at anything, including murder.

The people presented here represent a small section of all BAS activists and sympathizers from South Tyrol and Austria.

4.0

How

Political resistance

Starting in 1957, the first BAS activists tried to bring attention to the problems of the German-speaking populace of South Tyrol by means of acts of political resistance.

This included the distribution of flyers and especially the hoisting of the Tyrolean provincial flag and the painting of the Tyrolean eagle – the symbol of the province of Tyrol – on stone walls.

These symbols – of importance to the people of South Tyrol – had been prohibited since the Fascist era. Even after World War II, using these symbols could result in considerable penalties!

 

Attacks

After the Italian senate passed a new citizenship law allowing South Tyrolese who had opted for Italian citizenship to be stripped of their citizenship by mere administrative act for “disloyalty towards the State and its institutions,” on June 1, 1961, ten representatives of the northern and South Tyrolean BAS met in Zernez (Switzerland). They jointly agreed to commit acts of political resistance against symbols of the Italian state and its colonization and immigration policies – while absolutely avoiding the harming of human life. The date of the “Night of Flames” was set.

By 1964, at the latest, this injunction was dropped – undoubtedly in response to the torture of imprisoned BAS activists and because of the murder of Luis Amplatz, other activists, and innocent civilians. It became more and more difficult to identify the actual allegiance of those committing attacks in which people were hurt or killed. Certainly by 1964, it was no longer to deny the involvement of the Italian state in numerous attacks. By means of this “strategy of tension,” the activists were to be discredited and isolated, and Austria put under pressure.

Starting in 1961, Italian Neo-Fascists in Austria detonated bombs injuring or killing people. The perpetrators were never brought to justice.

5.0

Consequnces

Besides the human suffering of the victims of the 1960s, the “South Tyrolean Conflict” had also direct effects: Already as of the late-1950s, and especially after the “Night of Flames,” Italy began beefing up its security forces in South Tyrol. This led to a deployment of Army soldiers, the Carabinieri, and the Guardia di Finanza (customs soldiers) as well as of police forces numbering up to 40,000. Until 1970, South Tyrol resembled a military encampment.

Austria, too, strengthened its border forces. This was attributable in particular to heavy political pressure exerted by Italy on Austria. The border forces consisted of the “Concentrated Department” of the Austrian Federal Constabulary and, in 1967 – after the “event” at the Porze Gap – a deployment of the Austrian Federal Army at the border.

The positive result – both for South Tyrol and, ultimately, also for Italy – was the conclusion of the “South Tyrolean Pact” in 1969, which led in 1972 to the “Second Autonomy Statute.”

6.0

Vicitims

In the 1960s, at least 35 persons died as the result of the “South Tyrol Conflict,” and numerous persons were injured. These victims died for the most-varied of reasons.

Even though, up to the present day, the BAS is still blamed for most of the casualties among the Italian soldiers belonging to the Alpini, the Carabinieri, and the Guardia di Finanza (customs soldiers) as well as to the police forces, most of the attacks against Italian security forces have yet to be solved! Despite this fact, some former BAS activists in Italy are still convicted – including for acts which they had not committed. Italy still refuses to amnesty and/or rehabilitate them.

Despite this, let us take this opportunity to remember all of the victims of the “South Tyrolean Conflict!”

Finally, every victim represents
a step towards
freedom for South Tyrol!

AUSSTELLUNG
Laubengasse 9 - Bozen
1.0

Die Ausstellung

Diese Ausstellung kann nur einen kleinen Einblick in die Situation Südtirols in den 1960er Jahren bieten. Diese Jahre des Höhepunktes des „Südtirol-Konflikts“ sind derart „vielschichtig“, sodass vor allem das Interesse an den damaligen Vorgängen – die wesentlich für den Weg zur Freiheit für Südtirol waren – geweckt werden soll.

Im Mittelpunkt stehen daher jene Personen, die ein „Opfer für die Freiheit“ zu bringen bereit waren, die Aktivisten und Sympathisanten des „Befreiungsausschuß Südtirol“ (BAS). Es muss aber auch all jenen Personen gedacht werden, die selbst Opfer in den Jahren des „Südtirol-Konfliktes“ wurden.

2.0

Vorgeschichte

Der „Südtirol-Konflikt“ hat seinen Ursprung in der Besetzung Südtirols durch Italien nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg im November 1918 und der faschistischen Machtübernahme in Italien im Jahr 1922. Die Maßnahmen der faschistischen Regierung unter Benito Mussolini zur „Italianisierung“ Südtirols und zur „Majorisierung“ durch die Massenzuwanderung italienischer Staatsbürger sowie die zwischen Hitler und Mussolini ausgehandelte „Option“ brachte die deutschsprachige Südtiroler Bevölkerung in arge Bedrängnis.

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg setzte Italien die Politik der „Majorisierung“ fort, was 1957 zur Versammlung der Südtiroler auf der Burg Sigmundskron und zur Gründung des „Befreiungsausschusses Südtirol“ – BAS – führte.

3.0

Wer

Ab 1956 sammelten sich um Sepp Kerschbaumer aus Frangart bei Bozen Südtiroler aller Altersgruppen, um gegen die immer aussichtsloser erscheinende Lage der deutschsprachigen Bevölkerung zu demonstrieren. Etwa zeitgleich entstand in Nordtirol eine Gruppe des BAS, der sich auch Personen aus anderen Bundesländern und Studenten aus Deutschland anschlossen. Die insgesamt etwa fünf Personengruppen des BAS hatten nur einen losen Kontakt untereinander. Zudem gehörten deren Mitglieder unterschiedlichen politischen Richtungen und Ideologien an. Alle BAS-Aktivisten einte aber der Wille, etwas für die Situation der deutschsprachigen Bevölkerung Südtirols zu erreichen − alle waren bereit zu einem „Opfer für die Freiheit“!

Dies, obwohl bald klar war, dass Italien mit extremen Repressionen gegen die BAS-Aktivisten samt Folterungen reagierte. Nach der Ermordung des BAS-Aktivisten Luis Amplatz war klar, dass Elemente des italienischen Staates auch vor Mord nicht zurückschreckten.

Die hier vorgestellten Menschen stellen eine kleine Auswahl aller BAS-Aktivisten und Sympathisanten aus Südtirol, Österreich und Deutschland dar.

4.0

Wie

Politischer Widerstand

Die BAS-Aktivisten der ersten Stunde versuchten ab 1957, mit politischen Widerstandshandlungen auf die Probleme der deutschsprachigen Bevölkerung Südtirols aufmerksam zu machen.

Dazu zählte die Verteilung von Flugblättern und vor allem auch das Hissen der Tiroler Landesfahne und das Malen des Tiroler Adlers – des Tiroler Landeswappens – auf Felswände.

Diese für die Südtiroler bedeutenden Symbole waren seit der Faschistenzeit verboten. Auch nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg stand deren Verwendung unter beträchtlichen Strafen!

 

Anschläge

Nachdem der italienische Senat ein neues Staatsbürgerschaftgesetz verabschiedet hatte, welches die Möglichkeit der Ausbürgerung durch bloßen Verwaltungsakt von „mit der Treuepflicht gegenüber dem Staate und seiner Institutionen nicht vereinbaren“ Südtiroler Rückoptanten gestattete, trafen sich am 1. Juni 1961 in Zernez (Schweiz) 10 Vertreter des Nord- und Südtiroler BAS. Sie beschlossen gemeinsam den politischen Widerstand durch Anschläge gegen die Symbole der italienischen Staatsmacht, Kolonialisierung und Zuwanderungspolitik bei unbedingter Schonung von Menschen durchzuführen. Das Datum der „Feuernacht“ wurde festgelegt.

Spätestens ab 1964 fiel diese Schranke, zweifellos bedingt durch die Folterungen inhaftierter BAS-Aktivisten und durch die Ermordung von Luis Amplatz, anderer Aktivisten und unbeteiligten Zivilisten. Die Verursacher von Anschlägen auf Menschen wurden immer unerkenntlicher, und spätestens ab 1964 ist eine Verwicklung des italienischen Geheimdienstes in zahlreiche Anschläge nicht zu verleugnen. Durch diese „Strategie der Spannung“ sollten die Aktivisten diskreditiert und isoliert sowie auf Österreich Druck ausgeübt werden.

Ab 1961 führten italienische Neofaschisten in Österreich Sprengstoff-Anschläge gegen Menschen durch. Die Täter wurden nicht bestraft.

5.0

Folgen

Neben dem menschlichen Leid der Opfer der 1960er Jahre hatte der „Südtirol-Konflikt“ auch direkte Auswirkungen: Italien verstärkte bereits ab dem Ende der 1950er Jahre und vor allem nach der „Feuernacht“ massiv seine Sicherheitskräfte in Südtirol, was zu einem Aufmarsch von Soldaten des Heeres, der Carabinieri und der Guardia di Finanza sowie von Polizeikräften mit einer Zahl von bis zu 40.000 Personen führte. Südtirol glich bis 1970 einem „Heerlager“.

Auch Österreich verstärkte seine Grenzüberwachung vor allem aufgrund des starken außenpolitischen Drucks Italiens auf Österreich durch die „Konzentrierte Abteilung“ der Bundesgendarmerie und im Jahr 1967 – nach dem „Vorfall“ auf der Porzescharte – durch den Einsatz des Österreichischen Bundesheeres an der Grenze.

Die sowohl für Südtirol wie letztlich auch für Italien positive Folge der Problemjahre war der Abschluss des „Südtirol-Pakets“ im Jahr 1969, das zum „Zweiten Autonomiestatut“ im Jahr 1972 führte.

6.0

Opfer

In den 1960er Jahren kamen mindestens 35 Personen im Zusammenhang mit dem „Südtirol-Konflikt“ ums Leben und zahlreiche Personen wurden verletzt. Diese Menschen starben aus den unterschiedlichsten Gründen.

Auch wenn bis heute dem BAS die Täterschaft für die meisten der Opfer unter den italienischen Soldaten der Alpini, Carabinieri und Guardia di Finanza sowie der Polizei zugeschrieben wird, sind die meisten Anschläge gegen italienische Sicherheitskräften bis heute ungeklärt! Allerdings sind trotzdem noch einige der ehemaligen BAS-Aktivisten in Italien verurteilt, auch für Taten, die sie nicht begangen haben. Eine Amnestie beziehungsweise eine Rehabilitierung wird von Italien nach wie vor abgelehnt.

Ungeachtet dessen sei an dieser Stelle aller Opfer des „Südtirol-Konflikts“ gedacht.

Jedes Opfer bedeutete letztlich
einen Schritt auf dem Weg zur
Freiheit für Südtirol!