The efforts of the activists made a decisive contribution to improving autonomy

The late 1950s and the 1960s in South Tyrol have etched themselves into the memories of those who lived through them, due to the many attempts to demand from the Italian state the right of self-determination for the German-speaking and Rhaeto-Romance-speaking inhabitants of South Tyrol.

As early as November 17, 1957, there was an impressive plebiscite rally at the Sigmundskron Castle which 35,000 South Tyrolese attended. At this rally, Dr. Silvius Magnago, the charismatic head of the South Tyrolean People’s Party (SVP) and later provincial governor, called, in the name of the inhabitants of South Tyrol, upon the government in Rome to cease and desist from the constant violation of the Parisian South Tyrol Treaty of 1946, from the forced immigration of people from southern Italy, and from the many cases of provocative repression and oppression which the citizens of South Tyrol had had to endure.

Even after this peaceful and constructive demonstration – which had found acclaim throughout Europe – and the following negotiations between Austria and Italy towards
reducing tensions, the Roman government showed no willingness to modify its stance.

Subsequently, the “Liberation Committee of South Tyrol” (BAS = “Befreiungsausschuss Südtirol”) undertook specific actions to draw attention to the unendurable situation. These activities were based on a “strategy of pin pricks” (Sepp Kerschbaumer). The method of choice was the carrying-out of attacks against state-owned property and against physical symbols of the former Fascist state.

These actions culminated in a series of attacks carried out in the “Heart of Jesus Night” (also known as the “Night of Flames”) in 1961, as well as in individual attacks in subsequent years. These activities attracted worldwide attention, but also elicited an excessive reaction of the State, which responded with the persecution of the activists, including brutal torture and lengthy incarceration.

Additionally, the freedom fighters and with them all sympathetic Tyrolese were humiliated by the fact that the unscrupulous persons guilty of these acts of torture were not only acquitted by the court in Trient, but only three days later in Rome were celebrated, given citations, and promoted.

Thus, the activists of the 1960s did not achieve their goal of acquiring self-determination for South Tyrol and therefore reunifying Tyrol. But their actions motivated the U.N. General Assembly to again take up the issue of South Tyrol.

The interrupted negotiations between Austria and Italy for an upgrading of the existent autonomy of South Tyrol were resumed. The government in Rome convened the so-called “Commission of 19.” This commission was tasked with working out concrete measures for the enhanced autonomy of South Tyrol. This “package” finally came into effect in 1972 in the form of the “New Autonomy Statute.”

Those who have experienced up close the difficult and sometimes turbulent times documented in this exhibition have no doubt as to the fact that the courageous actions of and great sacrifices made by the activists of the 1960s yielded a decisive contribution to the achievement of a new and incomparably better autonomy for South Tyrol. However, the degree of self-determination necessary for our land to reunify with the Austrian state of Tyrol and the country of Austria remained out of reach.

This small exhibition titled “BAS – Sacrifices for Freedom” commemorates the dedication and suffering of the South Tyrolean freedom fighters of the 1960s and of their families.

The items exhibited here were collected by the freedom fighter Sepp Mitterhofer for the “Südtiroler Heimatbund”. Some of them are on loan from private individuals as well as from the “Ferdinandeum” Provincial Museum of Tyrol in Innsbruck. The “Südtiroler Heimatbund” with its chairman Roland Lang and honorary chairman Sepp Mitterhofer were the driving forces behind this. The Andreas-Hofer-Bund of Tyrol and its chairman Winfried Matuella (M.Sc. Engineering) assumed the sponsorship. The military historian Colonel Dr. Hubert Speckner wrote the texts. Together with his wife, Mrs. Sylvia Speckner, he acted as curator for the exhibition and established it with the assistance of the DP-art company (Brixen). The graphics were designed by Effekt! GmbH (Neumarkt).

Here we would also like to express our appreciation to Dr. Dieter Waldthaler, in charge of the exhibition rooms, who was himself an eyewitness of the era of the 1960s!

Einsatz der Aktivisten war entscheidender Beitrag für bessere Autonomie

Die späten 1950er- und die 1960er Jahre in Südtirol sind im Gedächtnis der Zeitgenossen festgemacht an mehreren Versuchen, das Selbstbestimmungsrecht der deutsch- und ladinischsprachigen Bevölkerung Südtirols gegenüber dem italienischen Zentralstaat einzufordern.

Bereits am 17. November 1957 hatte es eine eindrucksvolle plebiszitäre Kundgebung von 35.000 Südtirolern auf Schloss Sigmundskron gegeben, bei der Dr. Silvius Magnago, der charismatische Parteiobmann der Südtiroler Volkspartei (SVP) und spätere langjährige Landeshauptmann im Namen der Südtiroler Bevölkerung die römische Regierung aufrief, die ständige Missachtung des Pariser Südtirol-Abkommens von 1946, die forcierte Zuwanderung aus Süditalien, die vielfachen provokativen Repressionen und Zurücksetzungen gegen Südtiroler Bürgerinnen und Bürger zu unterlassen.

Auch nach dieser europaweit beachteten friedlichen und konstruktiven Aktion und den darauf folgenden Verhandlungen zwischen Österreich und Italien zum Abbau der Spannungen zeigte die römische Regierung kein Entgegenkommen.

Daraufhin versuchte der „Befreiungsausschuss Südtirol“ (BAS) mit gezielten Aktionen, auf die unhaltbar gewordene Situation mit einer „Strategie der feinen Nadelstiche“ (Sepp Kerschbaumer) aufmerksam zu machen. Das Mittel der Wahl waren mehrere Anschläge gegen staatliche Sachgüter und gegen materielle Symbole der früheren faschistischen Staatsmacht.

Der Höhepunkt waren die Serie von Anschlägen in der Nacht des Herz-Jesu-Sonntags 1961 und vereinzelte Anschläge in den Folgejahren, die weltweit Aufsehen erregten, aber auch die Staatsmacht zu überzogener Verfolgung der Urheber mit brutalen Folterungen und unverhältnismäßig langen Haftstrafen verleitete.

Zusätzlich waren die Freiheitskämpfer und mit ihnen alle mitfühlenden Tiroler dadurch gedemütigt worden, dass ihre skrupellosen Folterer nicht nur vom Gericht in Trient freigesprochen, sondern drei Tage darauf in Rom feierlich empfangen, ausgezeichnet und befördert wurden.

Die Aktivisten der 1960er Jahre haben also ihr Ziel, die Wiedervereinigung Tirols durch die Selbstbestimmung für Südtirol, nicht erreicht, wohl aber hat sich aufgrund ihrer Aktionen die UNO-Vollversammlung erneut mit Südtirol befasst.

Die unterbrochenen Verhandlungen zwischen Österreich und Italien für eine Verbesserung der bestehenden Südtirol-Autonomie wurden wiederaufgenommen. Von der römischen Regierung wurde die 19er-Kommission eingesetzt. Diese erarbeitete konkrete Maßnahmen für eine bessere Autonomie für Südtirol. Dieses „Paket“ ist schließlich 1972 als „Neues Autonomiestatut“ in Kraft getreten.

Wer die in dieser Ausstellung dokumentierten schweren, ja turbulenten Zeiten hautnah miterlebt hat, hegt keinen Zweifel darüber, dass die Aktivisten der 1960er Jahre durch ihren beherzten Einsatz und ihre großen Opfer einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Erreichung der neuen, qualitativ unvergleichlich besseren Autonomie Südtirols geleistet haben. Das Selbstbestimmungsrecht zur Erlangung der Wiedervereinigung unseres Landes mit dem Bundesland Tirol und Österreich blieb den Südtirolerinnen und Südtirolern jedoch weiterhin versagt.

Die kleine Ausstellung „BAS – Opfer für die Freiheit“ würdigt den Einsatz und das Leiden der Südtiroler Freiheitskämpfer der 1960er Jahre und ihrer Familien.

Die Exponate hat der Freiheitskämpfer Sepp Mitterhofer für den Südtiroler Heimatbund gesammelt, einige sind Leihgaben von Privaten und vom Tiroler Landesmuseum „Ferdinandeum“ Innsbruck. Der Südtiroler Heimatbund mit seinem Obmann Roland Lang und dem Ehrenobmann Sepp Mitterhofer hat die Ausstellung angeregt und angestoßen. Die Trägerschaft hat der Andreas-Hofer-Bund Tirol mit seinem Obmann Ing. Winfried Matuella übernommen. Der Militärhistoriker Oberst Mag. Dr. Hubert Speckner hat die Texte verfasst, mit seiner Frau Mag. Sylvia die Ausstellung kuratiert und mit der Firma DP-art (Brixen) aufgebaut. Die Grafik besorgte die Effekt! GmbH (Neumarkt).

Dank auch dem Hausherrn Dr. Dieter Waldthaler, selbst Zeitzeuge der 1960er Jahre!

 

Für den Ausstellungsbeirat:
von Dr. Bruno Hosp